Gluten Free Vodka: FAQ’s | Pristine Vodka

Gluten Free Vodka: FAQ’s

gluten free vodka



Is Gluten Free Vodka a Thing?

Gluten Free Vodka seems like a no-brainer. Many vodkas are made from corn or potatoes, which of course would make it gluten free. But what about wheat-based vodkas like Pristine? 

Many of the world’s finest vodkas are made from wheat. Traditionally, wheat is the grain used to craft vodka. And when it comes to flavor, tradition knows best!

Can a Wheat-based Vodka still be Gluten Free?

The short answer is yes! ALL vodka is, in essence, Gluten Free, not because of its ingredients, but because of the distillation process. Gluten is a protein found in wheat. The distillation process involves heat, and the alcohol evaporates, leaving the gluten behind. Voila: Gluten Free vodka.

You may notice, however, that not all vodkas have “gluten free” printed on the label. This doesn’t have anything to do with whether or not the vodka contains gluten, but rather if the company has paid to be certified gluten free.

Back in 2013, the FDA (Food and Drug Administration) ruled that any foods (or beverages) that are “inherently gluten free” or that have been processed to remove gluten [1], may utilize a “gluten free” label. However, just because a label does not say “gluten free” does not mean that the product contains gluten. Consumers should still use caution and common sense when shopping for food and drinks on a gluten free diet.

What to Look For

A distilled, all-natural vodka, like Pristine, is Gluten Free. It’s always a good idea to check labels and websites if you’re unsure. Occasionally, a distilled spirit will have additives (smoke or other flavorings, caramel coloring, or other artificial additives) that could compromise its level of gluten. A pure vodka like Pristine has no additives, and can be considered safe to enjoy for those on a gluten free diet.

If you have questions or concerns, consult a physician or dietitian before you buy. It never hurts to have that extra bit of reassurance!

Relax and Enjoy!

There are countless ways to enjoy your gluten free vodka in your favorite cocktail. Try a Pristine Vodka Gimlet, or a classic Vodka Cranberry. Visit our Cocktails page for more inspiration!

Have a gluten free cocktail you’d like to share? Contact us! You just might see your creation featured on our page.